City of Hobart Art Prize winners

Bush Orange 

The City of Hobart Art Prize has extended its national and international reach this year, with the major awards going to artists from the Northern Territory and New Zealand in 2012.

Hobart Lord Mayor Damon Thomas announced the winners of the Paint and Fibre categories at a ceremony at the Hobart Town Hall on Friday 5 October. 

Winner 2012 City of Hobart Art Prize – Paint category $15,000

Katie Petyarre Morgan (Northern Territory), Bush Orange, 2012 (pictured above)

Highly Commended: Megan Keating (Tasmania), Nature Strip #2 Bramble, 2012

Winner 2012 City of Hobart Art Prize – Fibre category $15,000

Julia deVille (Victoria, originally New Zealand), Charon, 2011 (pictured below)

Highly Commended: Kate James (Victoria), Cornucopia, 2012 

From approximately 400 entries, 35 finalists were selected for exhibition, 18 in Paint and 17 in Fibre. 12 of the exhibiting artists are Tasmanian.

The City of Hobart Art Prize 2012 exhibition will be open to the public from Saturday 6 October to Sunday 11 November at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, 5 Argyle Street, Hobart.

Gallery hours are 10am to 5pm.  Entry is free.

Visitors will be able to vote in the People’s Choice Award which is a cash award of $1000 for the most popular work in the exhibition.

One lucky voter will win a $100 gift voucher courtesy of the Hobart City Council from their choice of Artery, the Hobart Bookshop or Music Without Frontiers. 

For full details of the winners, and complete information about the prize, including voting in the People's Choice Award, please visit the Hobart City Council website